REVIEW: Aftermath by Joe Reyes

aftermath4stars1

I have to give this book 4 stars. I really enjoyed this book’s vision of a post-apocalyptic America. I am an avid reader of the young adult genre and it just seems to be my go-to.  At first, the story was a little confusing, but as I read on, I really started to get to know and understand the characters.

The author writes from different people’s perspectives and each story really does pull you in from the beginning. It is set about five years after the bombs go off. It’s a little vague as to the real reason why the bombs go off. Since it is a series, I’m sure the author will go into more detail A lot of people are struggling to survive.  We meet Ian, Sara, Carmen, Penny, Eric, Justin, Alice, and Ron. There are different villages of people who work together and another group of people who are cannibals.  On top of those villages of people, there is the war going on between the people and the government. Each chapter is set as a different person’s point of view.   We read what they are thinking, how they handle events that are thrown at them and their will to survive. There are a ton of twists and a couple of characters backgrounds I did not see coming. The ending of Aftermath is definitely a cliff hanger.

The novel was a quick read and well-written.  As a reader, I thought it drew you into the post-war America and makes you think about how one would survive; where would one go; could they kill if necessary.  It isn’t stuff a reader thinks about on a daily basis. I honestly wish the book was a little longer, but luckily, it is a series. I cannot wait to see more from Joe Reyes.

 

Reviewer’s Note:  I was given this book in exchange for an honest review by Booktasters.

 

You can find Aftermath by Joe Reyes on Amazon: http://a.co/gcCytIF

You can follow Joe Reyes on Twitter: @JoeReyesAuthor

 

Follow Me on My Social Media:

Leave a Reply

