Back to the Basics (My life after @FitGirlsGuide)

I started a new lifestyle change back at the beginning of 2016. I found this amazing, inspiring community back in 2015. I hesitated for a while because I thought I didn’t need the support and I was being a little cheap. But finally, I hit my low point. I gained about 20 lbs in a year.

It was heartbreaking. I did work hard to maintain my weight for years; a pound or two wouldn’t kill me. But seeing that number on the scale was my breaking point. I was depressed and in a fitness slump.

A little background as to how and why this happened to me. Back in 2008, I was diagnosed with PCOS, Hashimoto’s Disease, Hypothyroidism, and insulin resistance. I have been on thyroid medication since then to treat. It’s not a terrible disease, per se. To me, it’s more frustrating. Hashimoto’s is a genetic autoimmune disease. I was already predisposed to this disease because of my genetics. It’s not an uncommon disease as I have found out the last year. Losing weight has always been difficult for me. After that diagnosis, it all finally made sense to me.

I will go back to my original point of this post. I actually found FitGirlsGuide through social media and one of my close friends said she wanted to do it (She chickened out in doing it with me). I ended up buying the bundle pack as a late Hanukkah gift to myself. I was telling myself that if this plan didn’t work out, I would just have a bunch of recipes to have in my arsenal and some fun workouts to try while at the gym. No big deal, right? I was wrong.

However, there is more to FitGirlsGuide than just food and working out. It is a group of women who want to improve their quality of life. I did not get sponsored to talk about them. I gush about them all the time because I want to. I love recreating their food and alter it my preference. The workouts are super intense. It took me almost a year to start their BootCamp workouts (I’m currently on round 2 of this 12 week program). This community has does wonders for my life and personality.

It’s all about embracing yourself and loving yourself for who you are and what you can become.

I have made so many “Fit” friends along the way. I even met the founders last year in their sponsored 5k run. It was seriously an incredible experience.

I may not be the most creative, the best picture taker, or even the best eater, this change is about balance too. You have figure out what works best for you and your body. I changed my diet for the better and cannot wait to see where this will lead in the future.

Thanks to Linnea and the rest of the FitGirl community for all your amazing and inspring stories. I want to thank you for bringing me back to life after a rough time.

Want to learn more about FitGirlsGuide?

Go to their website: FitGirlsGuide

Follow Me on My Social Media:

xoxo,

Steph

Leave a Reply

