End of July Reads and my thoughts on them.. #amreading #books #bookreviews

I actually completed my list of books for the first time in a while and got a little ahead of myself! All the books I had posted to read about on my NEW READS: JULY 2017 post, have actually been read! I’m really proud of myself for this accomplishment. I have been posting my goals for a while now and I never quite reach them.

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Big Little Lies Liane Moriarty

PRE-READ: I actually bought this book back in March this year. I was at the airport and was stuck there for 3 hours because my friend decided that TSA was going to take 3 hours to get us through. LOL. So I bought this. It’s been in my Currently Reading pile for a while. I read a couple of chapters at the airport and still have yet to finish it. Once I finish, I want to watch the TV series on HBO. I heard it was good.

THOUGHTS: Let’s just say I was not expecting this ending to happen. From the way the book began, I actually thought something else had happened. But I guess that is the way the author wanted to play out the book. Overall, I thought it was funny, thrilling and a book I kept thinking about when I wasn’t able to read. I was glad for my vacation and being able to relax and just read. I would recommend this book.

The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J Maas

The Assassin's Blad Sarah J Maas

PRE-READ:  Again, another book that has been on my shelf for a while. I probably mentioned this book back a couple of months ago but forgot all about it. I got into my other book club books and didn’t get a chance to finish this series. I already pre-ordered Town of Dawn for September (squeals). This book does explain a lot of the background that went in the first 5 books of the Throne of Glass series.

THOUGHTS: Obviously, the fangirl inside of me loved this book. I am and will be a fan of Sarah J Maas and her TOG series. Seriously. I’m actually sad I didn’t pick this book up sooner than this month. I know I have been meaning to read it for a while, but still. I should have just stuck it out. It was my last read over the vacation. This book does explain a great deal of what happens prior to the series. I don’t know if I would read this before picking up the series again, or if I would just read it after the first book. I know it’s meant as a pre-TOG novella. Obviously, I would recommend this book.

*TOG- Throne of Glass series*

The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

The Woman in Cabin 10 Ruth Ware

PRE-READ: I bought this book on a whim in June. It actually was out in paperback at my local Barnes and Noble while I was in between doctor appointments. I had heard good things about this book and couldn’t wait to read it. It took me a total of four days to read it while at the pool and the beach.  (Side note: I actually finished this book during the 4th of July weekend #winning).

THOUGHTS: Like I said above, I actually finished this read on the beach over 4th of July weekend. I liked this book. Again, I am into thrillers and mysteries at the moment. It’s not something I normally read. I digress. Once I was able to get into the story, which the author does right away, I couldn’t put it down. You wanted to find out what happened with the character and who this mystery woman was. If you are into these kind of books, then I would recommend it.

You Will Pay by Lisa Jackson

Lisa Jackson You Will Pay

PRE-READ:  This is actually my book club’s monthly pick. We already read the first 10 chapters and discussed them in depth this past Wednesday (7/5). For some reason, I have been reading a lot of thrillers/mysteries lately. For a long time, I couldn’t get into them. But book club got me like #needmoremysteriesinmylife. (Thanks Wendy for hosting!)

THOUGHTS: So we actually just finished this book up for #fitchicsbookclub this week. I missed last weeks discussion because of my vacation, but I thought the book was really well written. It’s about a whole bunch of counselors at a Christian summer camp who all have something to hide and the truth finally comes out 20 years after. I like how the author switched back and forth between characters and the time. It gave a little perspective about everyone and their thoughts. There were some things I thought that didn’t add up, but you know, that’s just us noticing every little detail. As a recommendation, I’m actually on the fence. It depends on your preference.

Hereafter- A Southern Haunting – Book 2 by LeeAnne Hansen

Hereafter-Yonder#2

PRE-READ:  I get to this book that has been in my Currently Reading pile for the last couple of months. I was legit begging the author to let me read this book for the longest time. When she finished writing and editing it, my life got in the way and never actually got to finish. It is one of the books I am hoping to finish before I go on vacation.

THOUGHTS: I loved this sequel to Yonder. I’m so glad I actually finished it. I was eagerly awaiting this book for a year. I couldn’t wait to hear about Charles and Samantha. I wanted to read all about what had happened to them back in the day and how they ended up in the places they were in. But the third installment should be even better. I know it’s going to be about Doug and one of the other characters. But as the book ends, Pearl Harbor happens….HURRY UP LEEANNE! (Click on her name above, to see her twitter feed!)

I even got ahead of myself here and started two of the books I had planned to read in August, in July. Wow. #killinit #notliterally #justfinishedtwomorebooks

The Circle by Dave Eggers

TheCircleDaveEggers

PRE-READ: These are one of the books I started a while ago and just haven’t had a chance to read. I read like 50 pages in the first couple of days of buying it and put it down. I don’t know why. I just go through phases like this where I’ll start a book, stop it and pick it up again months later and fall completely in love with it.

THOUGHTS: This was not one of those books that I picked up after started and fell in love with it. I actually thought the ending was kind of abrupt and lame. I did read a couple of Egger’s books in high school many moons ago and liked this style. But this kind of book was not my jam.  I obviously do not like to give away the spoilers, but the climax of the book happens and he just goes right to the ending. Where is the editing in that? It just kind of summarizes what happens to each character after the climax, like a “Where are they now?” scenario. Maybe when I get the time, I will actually sit down and review the book fully. But as a recommendation, I would say PASS.

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

The Darkest Mind Alexandra Bracken

PRE-READ: This was also bought at the Amazon Book store in NYC. It looks interesting and it got some good reviews on Amazon and Goodreads.

THOUGHTS: I heard goods and read good things. I did like this book. It is the type of series I usually stick to and read until the end. I thought the book had a good writing style, was well informed, and kept up with the action sequence. I would have liked a little more character development from Ruby, but I guess I have to wait to read the rest of the series to find out. I would recommend this book.

THOSE are my thoughts about my July 2017 reading list. If you want to see more of what I typically read, click on my goodreads link down below! You can also follow my twitter for funny commentary, book updates or see my retweets.

xoxo,

Steph

Follow Me on My Social Media:

Leave a Reply

